Where irrigation water comes from, how much land it reaches, and how many wells, tanks and canals each district has.
What this page shows, in plain words
What it shows
Area irrigated by canals, tanks, wells and other sources, irrigation intensity, and the number of irrigation sources, for each district.
Irrigation intensity
As printed: gross area irrigated against net area irrigated. Above 1 means some land is irrigated more than once.
Wells
Counts of tube, bore, dug-cum-bore, filter point, artesian and open wells by owner, with the pumpsets that run them. The downloads hold every printed column.
Season and Crop Report 2024-25 · Agricultural year 2024-25 (June 2024 to May 2025)
The figures could not be loaded. The same figures are in the download files below.
Irrigation by district
Source: Season and Crop Report 2024-25, Part III, Tables III-A to III-E, printed pages 110–148. Download data (CSV)
All districts, one table
Notes and checks
- As printed. Every figure is shown as the report prints it. We do not recalculate averages, deviations, shares or totals. Bars and segments are drawn in proportion to the printed figures.
- District names. The pages use the official names from our district list. The report spells three of them differently (Sivagangai, Tiruchirapalli, Villupuram); the downloads use the official names too.
- Not reported. Where the report prints a dash or leaves a cell empty, we show “not reported” (a blank in the downloads), never zero.
- A selection here, everything in the downloads. The page shows a selection of columns; the download holds every printed column of the five tables (about 225 per district).
- Checks. 3,877 checks were run across the land use, irrigation and ground water tables, for example: electric + diesel + other pumpsets = total, independent + supplementing = total wells, Government + Private = total, the six well types add up to total wells, the sources add up to the total area irrigated, and the 38 districts add up to the State row. The two failures are listed below.
- Source issue 1. Irrigation intensity is printed as 0.00 where the area is not zero in 4 places: Dharmapuri (canals; tube wells and bore wells), Pudukkottai (supplementary wells) and Sivaganga (canals). Shown as printed.
- Source issue 2. State row, tube wells and bore wells, gross area: Government 2,587 + Private 8,07,225 = 8,09,812, but the printed total is 8,09,815. Shown as printed.
- Blank cells. The report leaves 117 cells blank (for example, no tanks in Tiruvarur). They show as “not reported”.
- Net area excludes supplementary wells, as the report states.
Published 2026-11-07 (version 1).
Source
- Report
- Season and Crop Report, Tamil Nadu, 2024-25 (Fasli 1434), Report No. 5/2026. Dated 9 February 2026.
- Publisher
- Department of Economics and Statistics, Government of Tamil Nadu
- Table and pages
- Part III, Tables III-A to III-E, printed pages 110–148
- Link
- des.tn.gov.in/en/node/18
Irrigation by district, Tamil Nadu
Irrigation sources and area irrigated for each district and the State: canals, tanks, reservoirs, wells (by type, owner and pumpset), area irrigated by source, irrigation intensity, and well use (tables III-A to III-E).
- irrigation.csv CSV · 8,775 rows · 841 KB
Figures are exactly as the report prints them. A blank is a cell the report leaves empty (or a dash): not reported, never zero. Net area irrigated excludes supplementary wells, as the report states.
Column dictionary (10 columns)
| Column | Type | Meaning |
|---|---|---|
report_year | text | Agricultural year of the Season and Crop Report |
district_code | integer | Official district code (1 to 38); blank for the State row |
district | text | Official district name, or Tamil Nadu (State) |
table | text | Table of the report: III-A to III-E |
group | text | Source or well type |
item | text | Owner, class or kind of figure |
measure | text | What is counted or measured |
unit | text | number, km, ha, % or ratio |
value | number | Value as printed; blank if the report has none |
printed_page | integer | Page number printed in the report |